Badger Badger Badger

22 Feb

 

As you can see from my hoard, I am a big fan of Badger products! I really can’t stop singing their praises. My husband, Seth, has even taken to calling me a “Badger Bot” whenever I mention the brand.

I actually discovered Badger through my favorite site, Pinterest. Someone had pinned the original Badger Balm “for hardworking hands,” and I immediately thought of Seth’s poor, dry cracked hands and feet. Seth is in the US Army and served his second tour of duty in Iraq from February 2010 (Valentine’s Day to be exact) to December 2010. All that dry weather and hard work took a major toll on his paws. I’d tried to get him to use lotion, but he truly despises how greasy and slippery it feels, so he would never use it.

I checked out Badger’s website and learned that the company was founded by Bill Whyte (affectionately called Badger Bill), a carpenter in New Hampshire who created Badger Balm to heal his hands after all that tough work. Having taking a wood sculpture class, I’ve experienced a baby dose of Bill’s plight and figured who else would be better to develop a product for dry skin than a New England carpenter? I was also excited by the wide range of scents they offered for their balms and other products. And the bonus? All their products are totally natural, certified USDA organic and animal cruelty free!

I did a quick retailer search on Badger’s website and was pleased to find that several stores in my area carry their products. So I popped over to Whole Foods and Central Market over the next couple days and picked up an assortment of products: Foot Balm, Sleep Balm, and the Cool Mint Cocoa Butter Lip Balm with the intention of testing them out myself before pushing them onto Seth, who tends to want reassurance that a product will work before he bothers with it.

Man, were these balms different! Unlike lotion, they have a more solid consistency, so it’s easy to get just the right amount of product out of the tin. Then, it rubs in easily, practically melting on. For the first 15-30 seconds, it feels slightly greasy, but as it absorbs and dries, it leaves your skin with a soft, powdery feeling. Not to dry, not too greasy, but just right. It also leaves your skin feeling hydrated for a long time, so it’s not something you need to be constantly reapplying. An added bonus: the scents. They are amazing and unbelievably natural because they are made from essential oils, not artificial fragrance. They are noticeable, but not overpowering.

In the meantime, I had emailed badger asking which products in particular they’d recommend for Seth, and they kindly offered to send him a complimentary tin as a thank you for serving our country! He received a full size tin (2 oz) of both the original Badger Balm and Foot Balm, and a mini .75 oz tin of the Sleep Balm.

Seth ended up liking them too, and they’re working wonderfully for his hands and feet. He especially likes to put the Foot Balm on before bed with socks.

I’ve taken to “collecting” Badger products, and I’m fairly sure the cute illustrations on the packaging has something to do with it (badgers are one of my favorite animals). So far, I’d have to say my favorites are the Evolving Body Balm (since renamed/repackaged as Damascus Rose Beauty Balm), Sleep Balm, and the Sore Muscle Rub Cooling Blend.

I hope to do individual product reviews in the future, but for now, I just wanted to post about this awesome product line.

One Response to “Badger Badger Badger”

  1. WS Badger Company (@BadgerBalmUSA) February 22, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Thank you for this sweet review, and enjoy your collection! :)

Leave a Reply

